Inn
the news

What guests say about
The Westleton Crown

We're bound to tell you that you'll have a wonderful stay but we think it's more important to hear from previous guests. This is just a selection of some of the lovely reviews we've received recently.

Excellent overnight stay 

Lovely friendly staff. Very dog friendly. Comfortable and warm accommodation. Excellent breakfast. My dogs loved the welcome letter and the free breakfast sausage.

Booking.com
January 2017

Exactly what was needed

Stayed with four legs as a last minute destress in the last weekend before the onslaught of Christmas. Everything was fantastic. Staff very friendly, food and accommodation excellent, dog chops allowed everywhere except the restaurant which is fair enough. Dog given sausages for breakfast which meant he didn't want his own food #rollseyes but as it was his break too, so what. Positioned equidistant between Southwold and Aldeburgh so a fantastic base for exploring or revisiting old favourites. Thank you, will be back

Tripadvisor
December 2016

Lovely getaway

My husband and I booked in for one nights stay to relax and get away from it all and that's exactly what we got! 
The hotel is cute and cosy and bed was so comfortable!
The bath was the best bath I've ever had in my life, having a bath here is worth every penny!
The restaurant was lovely with delicious food and lovely staff. We will definitely be back.

Tripadvisor
December 2016

Comfortable and relaxing 

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (only one night unfortunately). Our room was comfortable and well appointed and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful.
We arrived in the morning and did their Inn to Inn walk which takes a long route to the Ship at Dunwich and a shorter route back. The map and directions provided by the hotel were excellent.
The main building is lovely with several small rooms and areas where guests can sit.
We had a delicious meal in the restaurant in the evening and retired to bed totally relaxed.
Check out in the morning was fast and efficient. We felt very welcome and will definitely go back.

Tripadvisor
November 2016

Holy Makere, l was suprised!!!!

So,I have composed a lot of negative views on hotels when I have had a not so great experience, so now is the time for a good review, after booking the Westleton Crown, I thought I would be staying at a pub but I was wrong. this is a lovely litle inn attached to a country pub, which is clean ,contemparary yet holding a rustic charm, the rooms were immaculate with fresh milk,water and a good sized bed. If you are looking for somehwere to stay in the area, I have tried the Brudenell Tthe Uffod Park Hotel but can say this is clearly the best, good food and a beautifull village.The breakfast was tasty, fresh and cooked to order, enjoy!!

Tripadvisor
May 2015

Puppy's first holiday!

We stayed one night on Friday 10th April and were welcomed from the minute we arrived. Everybody made a fuss of our puppy Ned, and he was given treats, a water bowl and blanket. In the bar the staff loved him and at breakfast he got a sausage or two! Very nice location for walking dogs, we particularly liked the heath.
We stayed in the swan room, with a roll top bath, was a lovely room. Home made biccies on arrival, dressing gowns, and selection of drinks was a nice gesture.
We ate in the bar and couldn't fault our meal, my ribeye steak was so soft, not chewy or fatty, was delicious. My husband had the fish and chips and he said the curry sauce was divine.
Would recommend to anyone who wants a hotel where dogs are welcomed with open arms.

Tripadvisor
April 2015

The best dog friendly Inn in England!

I had tried to book The Ship at Dunwich a couple of miles down the road - but it was booked up. I settled for the Westleton Crown hoping it would be as good. In fact it exceeded all my expectations. A lovely room. A blanket and dog treats awaiting my labrador & a sausage breakfast all to himself. Yummy! The food was to die for with a starter of wild garlic taglaitelle, mains of sublime locally reared belly pork and a wicked desert of all kinds of wicked things plus a whole load more wicked things! The village is great with its own duck pond a fantastic little Church and local walks to the Westleton Heath nature reserve where you can spot deer (three types), adders, rabbits (many many rabbits) and a whole heap of birds. Yellowhammer and sky lark were good to see. Down the road is Dunwich, Walberswick and Southwold but i went walking in Westleton every day and loved it to bits!

Tripadvisor
April 2015

A secret we would love to keep but mustn't

We stayed earlier in the summer and then more recently in October. What a find! Such a friendly old Coaching Inn, re-furbished to such a high standard. Fabulous food, difficult to choose what to have. The big plus is that dogs are sincerely welcomed, and lovely walks are very close by and the coast a short drive away.

Tripadvisor
November 2014

Will be returning!

Comfortable rooms - small but good value, lovely food, friendly service, Beautiful countryside and location, what's not to like, nothing. Also dog friendly, but with no doggy smell in the rooms if you are not! Next time we will book two nights, one was not long enough. Also visited their sister hotel The Ship Inn at Dunwich, which looked equally as charming.

Tripadvisor
September 2014

Third visit

Previously stayed in rooms in separate building but this time stayed in main building. The Plover room with small balcony overlooking terraced garden was lovely. Food was excellent. Staff friendly. A great place to stay if visiting Aldeburgh or Southwold as between the two. This was for our 30th wedding anniversary and the following night we went to sister hotel Tuddenham Mill.

Tripadvisor
June 2014

Beautiful room, fabulous service

I loved the Westleton Crown. We had a beautiful 2 nights in one of the 'better' rooms which had a lovely comfy bed and a claw foot bath big enough for two. It was quite warm in our room - it was an incredibly warm weekend, so it might be worth asking for a fan on warm nights, but we loved the room. We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant on one night - it's certainly not cheap but it was all cooked perfectly and tasted lovely. Breakfast was fab - I recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon. On our second night, we ate in another local pub but returned to the Westleton Crown for dessert and some wine. The sitting room area was incredibly comfortable and relaxing, and the service was exceptional. I'd definitively recommend The Westleton Crown - it has a lovely relaxing environment, and is perfectly located for exploring RSPB Minsmere and some of the beautiful Suffolk coastline.

Tripadvisor
May 2014

The Westleton Crown

This was truly the most luxurious evening I spent while in England. It was money well spent. Lovely place and I will promote it when able.

Booking.com
April 2014

Wedding at The Crown

We were part of the wedding party this weekend where the Oldmans got married, can I just say that the whole event was superb. The food was amazing, staff were great, the YellowHammer was a great room, it was the most relaxing, well run wedding that we have ever attended. The Breakfast, Suffolk, was brilliant. Thanks again for an excellent weekend, we will be staying again soon. Well Done, 12 out of 10.Regards Captain Mark Albrow and Mandy Albrow. Again, superb.

Facebook
December 2013

Great alternative to Southwold!

After ruling out the Crown and Swan Hotels (availability and price), we selected the Westleton Crown after reading the reviews. It is in easy striking distance of Southwold - but also gives you greater access to other nearby beaches, villages and towns.

To confess, I was reluctant before we booked - but It turns out that a certain William and Kate stayed here in the past - so as ticks in boxes go, that was a significant one!

The Inn / Hotel has been tastefully refurbished - and our room (in "The Best") category included a lovely free standing double bath in the main bedroom!

We stayed on a dinner / bed & breakfast deal - which was excellent value. This allows you to pick any item from the main menu, and not just limited to some "special" menu that you otherwise get in many places!

The staff are all very friendly and the food is delicious and plentiful. Service was great most of the time - albeit slow on our second night. (I suspect we were just unlucky in this instance in the food we picked - but a pity that the waiter didn't advise that the Pear Tartin would take an extra 15 minutes).

No problem at all in coming back here - and would recommend it to friends and family.

Tripadvisor
May 2013

A Great Dog Friendly Place

The owners and staff of the Westleton Crown are a friendly lot. We were delighted to receive an email over the Christmas holidays inviting us and the furry twosome out for a visit. So with the return to the world of work looming we thought we’d use our last day of hols to have one last treat and set off.

The Crown Inn is set in the heart of Westleton village. The Victorian red brick exterior belies the history of this charming inn, said to date from the 12th Century. Once inside there are a surprising multitude of spaces to suit all tastes. The main bar is set to the front and has the busy hubbub of a popular local and this leads through to cosy sofa filled nooks, and on into the modern refectory dining hall and patio garden.

The dining space really has the wow factor, with a large expanse of glass ceiling and fold back patio doors that must truly come into it’s own on a sunny day. The food is also tip top; fresh and local. The price range is definitely that of a treat so it was great to see new and interesting dishes on the menu, not just your standard fayre. Had we stayed for dinner the choice of “Rich chocolate Charlotte with caramelized chestnuts and yoghurt sauce” and “Fig Tarte Tatin with whisky and honey ice cream” would have put me in a pickle, but what a wonderful dilemma to have to conjure?

Having sampled the lunchtime sandwich menu all four of us took up station in the sofa area and let a pleasant hour pass in relaxation. There was plenty of room for the dogs to stretch out and the staff made them extra welcome with Bonios and lots of petting.

If that wasn’t enough to convince, the numerous dog bowls around gave testimony that this is a truly dog-friendly inn. For those of you visiting from further away the Crown boasts 34 elegant rooms in which to stay and dogs are welcome.

Being so near to the delightful walks on Westleton Heath and in Dunwich Forest the Crown Inn made for a great dog-friendly start to the year and one we’ll have to go back to again.

Tripadvisor
May 2013

Award of excellence

Relax at The Westleton Crown

 

 

Bedroom and en-suite bathroom at The Westleton Crown

Site by Creative Sponge